Skip to main content

Editing User Access Permissions

A firm's Admin Users have the ability to restrict access to the different features of MyCase on a per-user basis.

Following along in MyCase is recommended as you read the steps:

A firm's Admin Users have the ability to restrict access to the different features of MyCase on a per-user basis.

This is useful for situations such as:

  • Hiding time & billing from lower-level staff

  • Restricting someone's ability to delete items from MyCase

  • Allowing someone to view all cases in the system, or only those they are linked to

How to Edit User Access Permissions

To edit user permissions, navigate to Settings > Firm Users.

A list of the firm user's that have been added to your firm's MyCase account will appear. Find the user you want to edit permissions for, then click the pencil icon in the permissions column of their row.

The permissions settings will be revealed: Once changes are made, ensure to click on 'Save Permissions' at the bottom right. If the updated permissions don't take immediate effect, the user may need to log out and log back in or refresh the page.


Feature Access Permissions

Each major feature can be set to Add & Edit, View Only, or Hidden.

  • Add & Edit: Gives user full access to add and edit items related to the feature.

  • View Only: User can view the items related to the feature, but cannot add or edit them.

  • Hidden: The feature will be completely removed from the users MyCase account. It will be as if the feature was never available to them in the first place.

Messaging Permissions

By default, users can only see messages or message threads in which they directly participated or to which they were manually invited. As an administrator of the account, you have the ability to grant access to all messages related to cases that they can access. The “All Messages Permission” will allow an individual much greater Messages access, including:

  1. The ability to view/respond to all messages pertaining to any case/contact to which they have access in the platform.

  2. View a new Message Folder in their Messages Tab called “Firm Inbox.” This folder will display, in chronological order (most recent first), all messages pertaining to cases/contacts to which they have access, as well as all messages that are not linked to an individual case.

Selecting the "Can delete messages" permission will allow the firm user to delete their own messages for any message thread they are a part of. This permission does not allow a firm user to delete messages sent by other firm users - they must be deleted by the firm user who has sent them.

Billing & Payments Permissions

Restrict to Time Entries & Expenses Only

Restricts user's billing access to view/edit time entries, expense entries, and saved activities only. The user will not be able to see the rate associated with their time or other firm users' entries.
​
Users with this restriction will no longer be able to view/manage: billing dashboards, invoicing, payment activity, trust accounting, and non-trust retainers/credits.

Allow access to financial insights screen

Users with this permission can access the Financial Insights page within the Billing module. This page contains summary reports such as Case Revenue Collected vs. Billed, Collected by Practice Area, Collected by Billing Type and Hours Recorded by Employee.

Reporting Permissions

For the Reporting feature, permissions can be set to Entire Firm, Personal Only or Hidden.

  • Entire Firm: All reports should be available for the user to view but will be dependent on their permission to access data from all cases or access to linked cases only

  • Personal Only: Only the following reports will be visible and information limited to their personal data: Case balance summary, Case revenue, Fee allocation, Case list, Contact, Statute of Limitations, User time and expenses, Events, Consultation fee revenue

    • Further reporting restrictions can be placed depending on each major feature's associated permission level.

    • Leads Permission: Leads referral source, Leads forecasted pipeline value

    • Events Permission: Events

    • Billing Permission: Case revenue, Fee allocation, User time and expenses


Additional Permissions

You can specify additional permissions for a user to:

  • Access data from every case in the system or only those he/she is linked to: This setting refers to their display and interaction of case data (such as billing-related items, documents, tasks, and events). By selecting “Only linked cases"; firm-wide billing totals in the main Billing tab will also be hidden from this user.

  • Add new attorneys, paralegals, and support staff to your firm's MyCase account: This setting refers to the ability for the firm user to add new members of your firm to MyCase. Learn more here.

  • Edit user permission settings: This setting allows this firm user to change these settings for other firm users.

  • Delete items (events, documents, time entries, etc.) from MyCase: This setting allows the firm user to completely remove items from MyCase.

  • Permanently delete documents from the trash bin? Users with this setting can permanently delete documents in the document trash page located within the Documents module.

  • Edit import-export capabilities? This setting gives access to the Import/Export page located within Settings allowing them to import time entries, expenses, cases, import/export contacts, and conduct a full backup.

  • Edit custom field settings? This setting allows the firm user to add and edit custom fields in the Custom Fields page located in Settings and across MyCase where adding custom fields is applicable.

  • Manage your firm's Multi-Factor Authentication options? This setting allows the firm user to reset a firm user's multi-factor authentication, allowing the affected user to select a new MFA method upon next login.

  • Manage your firm's preferences, billing, and payment options: This setting allows the firm user to become and admin user and to update overall firm preferences as well as manage your MyCase subscription options. Admin users who are editing their own permissions will not see this option to prevent accidental removal of admin user permission, especially in the case where there is only one admin user for the firm. Learn more here.

Did this answer your question?