Overview
When a client's access is disabled, you cannot share any information or communicate with them through MyCase. Learn more about Sharing Information with Clients and Contacts.
Disabling MyCase Client Portal Access for New Clients
When you first add a client/contact to MyCase, you will be presented with standard fields such as Name, Address, Email, etc. Among these fields, you will notice one called Enable Client Portal.
Click the Enable Client Portal toggle to off to ensure no client portal is active.
Disabling MyCase Client Portal Access for Existing Clients
If you have an existing client with MyCase access enabled, you can easily disable access for them. Here is how:
Navigate to the Contact Page of the person you want to turn the Client Portal off for.
Make sure you are in the Info section of the Contact page.
Find the Client Portal Access field (notice how the Slider is set to Enabled).
Click the toggle to Disable the Portal.
Click the Disable Access button.
Disabling the client portal temporarily revokes the client's access without removing any previously shared data. You can re-enable access at any time.
Setting the Default Portal Access for New Contacts
Admin users can set whether the client portal is enabled or disabled by default whenever a new client contact is added, in Firm Settings.
To update this setting:
Click your profile icon in the top-right corner.
Select Settings from the drop-down menu.
Click Firm Settings in the left navigation menu.
Open the Preferences tab.
Make your changes, then click Save.




