Skip to main content

How do I deactivate a firm user?

You can deactivate a firm user with the steps in this article.

Following along in MyCase is recommended as you read the article.

Overview

In 8am™ MyCase, firm users (attorneys, paralegals, staff) cannot be deleted - they are deactivated.

  • Deactivated users will not be able to login to the system.

  • Deactivated users will not impact your subscription - you will not be charged for them.


Deactivate a Firm User

  • Open the Settings page.

  • In the left-hand menu, click Firm Users.

  • Click the name of the person you'd like to deactivate.

  • You will now be on their contact details page. Scroll to the bottom of their photo and click the Deactivate User button.

MyCase will display a warning dialogue asking you to Cancel or Deactivate the user. To continue with the process of archiving the user, click Next: Confirm Deactivation.

  • Lastly, you have the option to Reassign Tasks and Events to an active user so that nothing is lost when the user is deactivated.

User-added image

Note: If you encounter an error stating the user cannot be deactivated due to an integration, contact support before proceeding. If it's an integration you no longer need, uninstall the integration from the active profile, then deactivate the user. If it's an integration you want to continue using, contact support first so we can help manage the transition properly.

Did this answer your question?